web-archive-net.com » NET » B » BABYLONZOO.NET

Total: 279

Choose link from "Titles, links and description words view":

Or switch to "Titles and links view".
  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: The Boy With The X-Ray Eyes Review
    targetted for these browsers The Boy With The X Ray Eyes Review I guess I don t watch enough television I ve been told that this band s song Spaceman was used in a Levi s commercial before its album was even released Normally I d call that pre selling out which is the difficult process of going corporate before you even have a hit I guess it s free advertising but I ll say this Babylon Zoo doesn t need help from anyone They ve literally got a sound like none I ve ever heard and it s brilliant as far as pop songs go truly brilliant If there were a musical scale to measure these guys they d have the weight of the world on their shoulders Babylon Zoo miraculously co mingles spacey keyboard elements with electric razor humming guitars and wire slick vocals The entire band ought to be commended for making their individual elements meld into not only 11 cohesive songs but an entire wall of sound that spreads out like blood through thirsty veins to create a thriving 55 minutes of life Each track feels full of experimentation rather than a quick pop tune with

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_08.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive


  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Spaceman Review
    of this website which we provide You are using a text only browser or similar Please visit the compatibility section for more details and alternative versions of this content targetted for these browsers Spaceman Review Well surely everybody must know by now that this is the song used in the current Levi jeans advert featuring the girl and the spaceship What fewer people know is that the snatch used in the advert is totally unrepresentative of the song and the band The song starts with the familiar advert sounding ambient space sounds jungle beat and techno Morph vocals Then it winds down and a slow drum machine starts together with a digital bass and metal guitar The singer turns out to be male with an amazing or sequencer enhanced talent for sustain but otherwise a pretty much standard rock voice Overall the song has a tendency towards 70 s space rockers such as Ziggy Stardust with lots of references to the ills of society on petty Earth Above average and a nice one for the dancefloor What really makes it is the melody and there is a potential for further good songwriting The single also features other mixes including a

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_09.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Animal Army Review
    the Bowie Bolan weird lyrical space cadet terrority featuring a fuzzed up guitar and killer rift Jas Mann is a talented musician to be sure but his lyrical prowess has a long way to go Animal Army features him wailing about Elephants dancing or something who knows who cares Actually I can see Mann as a bizarre Michael Jackson rock eccentric with his own private Zoo and neverland and after

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_10.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Interview with Babylon Zoo
    with an environment on their own the thought process completely changes I do think rooms and environments totally affect our whole persona With my recording studio I wanted to create an environment that was like my environment something that I wanted Maybe I wanted to see out there or maybe this is a futuristic sort of paradise so I had simulated fish and robots and I ve got a mini jungle going on in there It s the sort of place that s like a lost world the new Atlantis somewhere different ambition of mine It always has been KD It must also be nice that with your commercially successful musical projects you can finance other projects you re working on JM I ve always done it To be honest the first thing I released was my fifteen minute film I didn t even release a record I found a record label and they actually agreed after much fighting to release my film It wasn t like successful but it was shown in small cinemas for independent releases It spurned a lot of interest I think it s important that as an artist as a musician you don t want to lose the fact that you are a creative person Obviously you want success but at the same time you want satisfaction and ideas You want your ideas to be released and so for me it is a platform to make the things I want to make to make the films I ve wanted to make and to put on that whole affair rather than to keep going in that whole formula and keep releasing albums again and again and again There s plenty of hours in a day to be involved in so many other things Film is the love of my life I always want to do something involved with film KD Where do you think your first band the Sand Kings went wrong JM Weeelllll it was one of those things When I look back to that it s like a school photograph You look back at it and think Oh my god look at that hair Somebody obviously put a bowl on my head and cut around it That s what it was I was fifteen years old When you re that age you just do it Sometimes it works sometimes it doesn t There s no thought process going into it You just pick up your guitar You ve got your mates who are at school with you and you just make a noise Sometimes it kicks in and people think it s great and sometimes they think it s absolutely terrible That s probably what they thought They laughed at it I needed it as experience to understand You have to go through the bad haircuts to find out what is the good one KD Who do you see as being the main Babylon Zoo fan base JM It s unbelievably weird It s

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_11.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Interview with Jas Mann from French magazine XL
    latest album is purely traditional pop rock Have you given up machines JM I have never been fond of machines Even my first album was composed with a guitar and a small 4 track tape recorder I always practise at my songs in an acoustic way giving priority to the tune and the lyrics In Europe we are fond of arrangements As soon as you go into the studio you try to outdo your rivals but for King Kong Groover I wanted man to beat the machine In what way do your Indian origins influence you JM I m a pure product of the two cultures So it can be felt in my music my behaviour I like it to come back naturally but I would not make myself look ridiculous making traditional indie music It s the same for my clothing I like nice and refined materials I am not a rocker that burps while drinking beer No your style is rather the Levi s adverts JM So what I have been lucky but I owe it only to myself When this advert was released with my single Spaceman nobody knew me It enabled me to make an album

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_12.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Who Is Jas Mann?
    Chart position 1 Spaceman was 1 for 5 straight weeks Spaceman is the fastest selling debut single ever Spaceman was the fastest selling single since the Beatles Can t Buy Me Love Album debuted 6 on the UK album Chart SPACEMAN IS NOW UP TO TEN 1 HITS ACROSS EUROPE BABYLON ZOO is a play on Mann s life where the Babylonian color riot of his childhood years in India to the bleak urban Zoo of his adolescence in Wolverhampton England It s just a name but it s also a banner of convenience beneath which MANN can pop it up with a parade of aggressive melodies and play a serious game of cultures chaos collage Mann named the band s debut album after his child hood nickname THE BOY WITH THE X RAY EYES because of his cool blue eyes According to his record company Jas was born in Britain to Sikh parents and raised between the Temple and the television set He returned to India as a three year old and lived for a while with his grandfather soaking up memories of sugar cane fields and spider monkeys For a year he lived on a ranch in the US with his Mother s Sioux Indian connected family Most of his adolescence however was spent in Wolverhampton with his two sisters no records just Bollywood videos and Sci fi on the TV I think I took all the positive things from both cultures rather than taking the negative side he says of his Anglo Asian past I liked the fact that it wasn t one dimensional I like things like that it keeps the soul excited And I want that to be a great positive influence coming from my music It s classic potent pop formula distorted into a naive but beautifully crafted angry yet optimistic attack on the frustrations of everyday life The way I see music is I create it I feel it and then throw it out there and it s finished says Jas MANN the enigmatic singer songwriter producer If people want to buy into BABYLON ZOO and buy into the whole perspective that s behind it it s there If they don t and they just want to see the faccia then they can just see that and that s just as important It is five dimensional music there are different aspects and you can see through them and find different things in them At the same time the main reason for doing it is to be highly successful While talking about his debut single Spaceman in a recent interview Mann remarked ³I write about what it would feel like to be a person from another planet rather than romanticizing science fiction Many say that Spaceman is a success thanks to Levi Strauss the jeanwear company which filmed a jeans commercial featuring the song that was shown in Britain Benelux and Norway late last year In response Mann says They stopped showing the commercial

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_13.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Article Scan
    is displaying this message it may be due to one of the following reasons The CSS for this website failed in load in which case you should be able to correct this problem by hitting refresh Your browser doesn t support style methods used on this website Visit compatibility for details and alternative versions of this website which we provide You are using a text only browser or similar Please

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_14.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive

  • Babylon Zoo Online :: Articles :: Article Scan
    is displaying this message it may be due to one of the following reasons The CSS for this website failed in load in which case you should be able to correct this problem by hitting refresh Your browser doesn t support style methods used on this website Visit compatibility for details and alternative versions of this website which we provide You are using a text only browser or similar Please

    Original URL path: http://www.babylonzoo.net/articles/article_15.html (2016-05-02)
    Open archived version from archive